Cullar & McLeod, LLP provides aggressive criminal defense advocacy for clients accused of all types of felonies and misdemeanors, including allegations of drunk driving, illegal drug possession and assault. From our office in Waco, we assist clients in McLennan County and throughout Texas.
Misdemeanor & Felony Charges
When a person is accused of a crime, he or she may face serious criminal penalties, such as license suspension, probation, court-ordered community service, substantial fines, and years of imprisonment. The severity of a criminal sentence depends on such matters as whether the crime is a misdemeanor or felony, whether the person is a first-time or repeat offender, or whether there are aggravating or mitigating circumstances.
At the law firm of Cullar & McLeod, LLP, we have years of experience defending clients against all types of criminal charges. Depending on what is in a client's best interest given the circumstances, we can negotiate a plea bargain to reduce the charges or sentence or aggressively advocate on our client's behalf in trial. Our firm can assist in all types of misdemeanor and felony charges, including:
- Drug Possession
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
Under Texas law, a person may be found guilty of drunk driving, or driving while intoxicated (DWI), if he or she has a blood or body alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, or if the person is intoxicated because of the use of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, or a combination of those substances. A first time offense is considered a misdemeanor, and is punishable by 72 hours to 180 days jail time, a fine of up to $2,000, or both. A second conviction may be punishable by a minimum of 30 days imprisonment, but not exceeding one year, a fine of up to $4,000, or both. Each additional conviction is punishable by increased penalties. Additional penalties for a conviction may include:
- License Suspension or Revocation
- Drug or Alcohol Education & Assessment or Treatment
- Community Service
- Vehicle Confiscation
- Ignition Interlock Device
If you are placed on probation, you must follow the requirements of your probation order, or you risk being charged with a probation violation. A probation violation may result in a revocation of probation, and you may be held without bail until the sentencing judge can hear your case. If you are found guilty of violating your probation, more conditions may be added to your probation terms; your probation period may be lengthened or revoked; or you may face jail time. We can help you clear up your probation violation and seek to have the original conditions of your probation reinstated.
McLennan County Criminal Defense
Whether you are facing a misdemeanor or serious felony charge, our attorneys have the expertise and experience to help fight for your rights and protect your interests. For aggressive criminal defense representation, contact the McLennan County law firm of Cullar & McLeod, LLP today.